Learned My Lesson

Published June 18, 2012 by Becca

I won’t be ordering whole pizzas by myself any time soon again. It took me 3 days to eat, and wasn’t really a huge detriment to my diet, but I didn’t want to eat it for 3 days!! (And believe me, this is the 1st time I’ve ever said this about eating pizza.) I know I didn’t have to eat it, but I didn’t want to waste the money either. I don’t feel guilty, which is important. And now I know to just not make the same mistake. I’m in Brooklyn, I can walk the 5 blocks to get a couple slices if that’s what I really want for dinner.

After 2 hard days of running in a row, I ended up taking Saturday and Sunday as rest days. Semi-reluctantly. The weather was freaking gorgeous. I was a little tired from working in the mornings though. I had wanted to do an ab or arm workout… I really have to figure out a plan to get myself on track with that. Even just one day a week to start. I guess I shyed away from the P90x because I know it’s an hour work out. I’ll check out my OnDemand for a 30 minute video.

I’ve been sucking at tracking my WW points for like the past 3-4 weeks. (And yes I’ve still been losing, but I’m sure I can’t keep that up.) I hate tracking! I don’t know why. So far I’m doing an alright job keeping a mental tally. It’s not like I intend to track my whole life. I want to get to a point of intuitive eating. I also come from a different place when it comes to food and cooking because I’m a professional chef. I do major eye rolls that WW wants to limit you (but encourage at the same time) to 2 teaspoons of olive oil a day. You shouldn’t drown your food in even olive oil either, but 2-3 Tablespoons, depending on what you’re eating, isn’t what is gonna keep you fat. I like oil on my salad to help cut the acidity of the vinegar. Lots of food need to be lubricated with oil when they’re cooking. I’m also Italian, so I’m completely biased. 😉

/end tangent

I shouldn’t wait until I plateau or gain weight to start tracking again. Tomorrow (Monday), I start tracking again. I’m gonna track every day this week. Including exercise (even though I hate calculating the activity points for walking and running).

I placed a Fresh Direct order for this week so I don’t have a take out repeat of last week. (For those of you not in NYC, Fresh Direct is an awesome grocery delivery service in the city. It’s got decent prices on meats and produce and dairy. Grocery dry goods aren’t so great, so I try to still get that stuff on my own. I don’t love the produce selection of my grocery store, and it’s the only one in the area so it’s really crowded all the time. I’m also single and can afford to splurge a little bit since I’m only buying for 1.) Summer produce is peaking and I’m so excited!!! Specifically for stone fruit!!!! I got a mix of nectarines, peaches, and plums, as well as a cantaloupe and some cut watermelon (I also discovered the hard way even the mini watermelons are too big for me). For Tuesday’s dinner, I got some scallops, asparagus, cherry tomatoes, and fresh pasta to make an awesome pasta dinner. I got a big pack of chicken which I may cook up for Thursday’s dinner. Maybe something to go with the ears of corn I got.

I am so excited for scallops. I love scallops hardcore. They’re one of my most favorite foods ever. I just need to get a proper pan to cook them in because I only have non-stick and you can’t get a great sear on them with non-stick. (True story.) Holy crap 3oz of scallops is just 2 points?? Sweet!!!

I like when I plan my meals out.

Next step is planning out meals I can bring to work with me beyond salads and sandwiches, that don’t require a microwave (but could be reheated/cooked in the oven) or quickly cooked on the stove. If I’m good about prepping things ahead of time, and keeping it simple, it’s feasible to make it happen at work.

2 comments on “Learned My Lesson

  • For some reason I thought you lived in Minnesota…oh well! I’ll be in NYC in August for a couple days and can’t wait! I don’t think WW “limits” your olive oil intake, I believe they tell you to have at LEAST 2 Tbsp of healthy oil/day.

    • They want you to have 2 teaspoons a day. Which, if I’m having a salad, is roughly how much I would use for a large salad. And then I should hope nothing is cooked in oil. I also get annoyed at their counting because it’s 1 point per teaspoon, but it’s 4 points for a Tablespoon. There are 3 teaspoons in a tablespoon. Not sure how that works out.

  • Tell me something!

