Half Mary Training

Published June 22, 2012 by Becca

So I’ve decided on this half marathon training plan. It kind of caters to busy people so it’s only 3 days a week of running which is perfect for me with my weird work schedule. I think that if I can run a 4th day, I’ll do speed work. I’m pretty sure there’s a track in my neighborhood.  This plan is great- they made a handy Excel document where I just put in the date of the race and it calculates each week of training.  And I can just easily move each day based on my work schedule.  My long runs will have to be on my days off, not weekends, for instance.  And according to the schedule, I started this week!  Apparently I can’t count weeks on calenders myself because I thought it would start next week, haha. It’s ok.  I did one run, I’ll do a long run tomorrow (it’ll be cooler!), and another run this weekend.

I’m not too concerned with my weight loss efforts during this.  The weekly runs are no more than 5 miles, and that’s towards the end, and that really doesn’t require a lot of extra fueling.  On my long run days once I’m over 5 miles, I may eat a little bit extra the night before/day of to help keep my energy up.  Probably no more than the activity points that I’ll burn on that run.  It’ll be some trial and error as my mileage increases.

Speaking of weight loss- I weighed in this week at 231!  Down 2.4 pounds!  I’d like to credit that to doubling up on my runs.  And resuming tracking. (4 days in a row!)  I’m so stoked.  I think by race day, I could be sub-200. OMG.  Sub-200.  That felt so far away 17.6 pounds ago.  It’s amazing what 17 measly pounds can do!

I can’t believe how good and easy this has been feeling.  I think it’s because I’ve always known what it is I should do.  I just didn’t care enough.  And now I care.  I hate to say it, but I really think being single is what pushed me to do this.  Not just because I’m back dating and I want to have my pick of guys, instead of just being able to choose from guys who are attracted to big girls.  But also because I’m enjoying doing something nice for myself.  I’m running- which I LOVE.  I’m trying to eat good, healthy food.  The kind I enjoy.  I’m just cooking for myself so I can afford scallops.  I can afford to make exactly what I want to eat.

My ex was NOT the pinacle of health.  He smoke a pack and a half a day, ate fast food most days, and zero exercise.  He was supportive of me whenever I would try to get healthy, but he wasn’t interested in living a healthy lifestyle with me, and it would just never work.  It felt like I was swimming upstream.  No wonder nothing every stuck when I was with him.  The next guy I commit to has to be interested in being healthy. He doesn’t have to run marathons.  Or even run.  But he has to want to be physically active.  He has to want to eat vegetables voluntarily.  And I’m not negotiating on the smoking thing again.  That is a deal-breaker.  I cannot live with another smoker ever again.  It was torture, honestly.

But anyways… I’m really excited about how this is going and taking on half marathon training.  I feel really devoted and committed to this like no other time before.

This week at Weight Watchers was “Eat What You Love.”  I LOVE this philosophy.  I live by it.  I always have.  It was what I said to myself when I started Weight Watchers. Because it’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle.  There are compromises I won’t make.  Based on what I like, and what I know as a chef.  I will NEVER drink skim milk.  Ever.  Ever. Ever.  I had that forced on me as a kid and always hated it.  And based on various reading’s I’ve done (Michael Pollan for example), dairy fat is GOOD for you.  So good for you.  And fat-free dairy is somewhat unnatural (I’ll find quotes to back this up another day).  It’s also gross.  I got fat-free sour cream the other day to “be good” and was shocked at how disgusting it was.  Never again.  On the other hand, I find fat free yogurt to be quite tasty, so I do eat that- because it’s not a compromise!

Tomorrow is long run day since I ended up being off from work, and the temperature is going back down a little to 80.  I may also pop in to another WW meeting to see my favorite leader.  I liked today’s leader too though.  I want to sample them all, haha.

Tell me something!

