Tacos, Margaritas, and Midnight Runs

Published July 3, 2012 by Becca

I had lunch with my ex yesterday at a Cali-style taco joint we had been wanting to try since before we broke up. The taco joint delivered. I had an amazing mango margarita (for nerves), a classic fried cod taco, and a delicious veggie taco. I almost like the veggie one more, but that’s slightly because the sauce on the fish taco was a touch to spicy for me. I’m already wanting to go back. I totally missed the Baja Street Corn! Grilled corn with chili, cotija, and lime- mmmmmmmmmm.

The lunch went… Ok. It was awkward. We haven’t seen each other since March (though we’ve usually been texting), and things have been tense and heated. We kept it fairly light just talking about work and things like that. It got bumpy at the end when we were talking about if we want to do this again. I told him I’m still very much in love with him and I want to try again if he does. It’s a tough decision. We both hurt each other a lot. And I don’t know if we can work, but I’m willing to try again for a bit. He’s still trying to decide. We shall see.

Having a nice lunch set me up to not snack as much at work. I had a couple pieces of weird fried chicken, a couple dinner rolls, some iced tea. Not too bad really.

I got home before midnight last night so I figured that was a sign I should go running. I went on the path by the water which even at midnight was still well populated. There were people running, biking, walking, sitting on the benches. I love NYC.

I pushed myself much harder last night. I’ve been watching these guys on the Biggest Loser basically killing themselves and I thought it was dumb I wasn’t working harder. And it’s funny, as much as I kicked it up a notch, I’m still not sure I killed myself. Which is ok I guess. Nice to know my fitness is improving and I still have more in me.

I ended up doing intervals- I went to the 1st day of the 2nd week of C25k and ran fast the run segments (about 10:15/min mile) and jogged the walk segments (about 13:30 min mile). And I did it twice. For a total of 3.75 miles that includes the warm up and cool down walk (I need to figure out the distance from my apartment to the running path. Its probably about .2 miles one way).

I’m planning on killing it on the treadmill runs this week since running on a treadmill is easier.

And ending my post with some pics from last night:

20120703-124703.jpg

20120703-124813.jpg

Tell me something!

