Surprises on the Scale

Published September 16, 2012 by Becca

I was quite surprised to see on the scale 225.6 when I weighed in Friday at Weight Watchers. It was a 5.2 pound loss from the previous week. My scale at home only said I was 227. So I like the other number better. I’m 1 pound away from my 10% goal! I’m very excited. And 2 pounds away from 25 pounds lost. So I’m hoping to lose 2 pounds. But we’ll see.

4 weeks ago I joined an online game pool to lose 4% of my weight in 4 weeks to get a shot at splitting the pot. It was $15 to get in. I did great my 1st week and petered out. Totally. The thought of winning money did not help sustain any weight loss efforts! Bummer! So I’m out $15. Oh well. It’s a neat idea. Maybe I’ll give it another shot sometime when I’m feeling more dedicated.

Emotional eating is still a severe struggle for me. Obvs. It’s only been a few months since I’ve started tackling the issue. It’s so hard to stay on track when I’m upset or stressed or tired. One weakness of mine is drinking soda at work when I’m tired. I sometimes feel like the sugar/caffeine works. Sometimes it doesn’t. There are some days though I’ve had 2 quarts of Sprite! Even 1 quart is too much. I got diet coke instead the other night but it wasn’t the same and I did not enjoy it. I should go back to drinking iced tea. That caffeine definitely helps.

I’ve only had a few mini-binges this summer. I don’t full out binge, which is good since I’m not doing too much caloric damage, but I have to stop walking that path and digging a rut. I gotta say though eating crap really does make me feel better after. I’m not one of those people that’s filled with shame and regret and I don’t binge to the point of being uncomfortable. So yeah, eating a sleeve of Oreos can make me feel better when I’m stressed or sad. Which makes the habit that much harder to break.

Tell me something!

