1 week

Published October 1, 2012 by Becca

Today marks 1 week until my first half marathon. 13.1 miles!! I’m getting nervous. Mostly because I know my training was subpar and I slacked off the past week. Who slacks off 2 weeks before their race?!

I have no idea if there will be consequences for this. I haven’t run in over a week.

I guess the bad news at work took the wind out of my sails. (I didn’t get the promotion I wanted to head pastry chef. Instead, they brought back the old pastry chef that left when I started. Cause he needed a job. So messed up.) That and things with my ex clogging my head.

Sigh.

I know. I was supposed to be moving on from that. But it’s just so hard to just walk away cleanly. We took like a 6 week break and things started up again, and they’ve been mostly good. Our attitudes are different. We’ve been making changes. But he’s still not committing to anything. So I’m still in limbo.

And twice I let texting him ruin my runs last week. Including my long run. I can’t wait until I get my Garmin and I can just leave my phone at home.

That’s my good news at least. My parents are so proud of me for my running and doing the race, they generously offered to get me a GPS watch. I picked out Garmin’s new 10 watch. It’s super basic- how far and how fast. That’s all I really need. And it has an interval timer too which I also wanted. And I got it in pink. It’s perfect! It’s exactly what I need. I think it’s a perfect first watch. And if in a few years I feel like I need something more advanced, well, then that’s still possible. It’s gonna be a few weeks until I get it though because its back ordered. But no rush.

It’ll be nice to use at my running class. I signed up for this class through NYRR that’s only $100 for 10 classes which is a steal in NYC. Lol. It’s to work on my speed. Because that’s my focus for once the race is over. I’d like to do the Brooklyn half next year in the Spring, but I’m not planning on doing anything over a 10k until then. So I’m gonna focus on running for fun and speed only and losing weight to help that.

Speaking of weight, according to my home scale, I’m down to 224.8 today. Which I’m happy I see. I’ve been holding steady in the 225-229 range all summer, so this week I set a goal to see 224 on at least my home scale. (I was 227 this Friday at WW but it was my first week wearing jeans and they were also wet from the rain, so I have high hopes for the next weigh in now that I’ve set the “jean” standard. )

Hopefully this is the week I make my 10%! 24 pounds is my 10%. And then hopefully next week I can celebrate my 25 pound mark! How exciting would that be??

We started an 8 weeks until Thanksgiving challenge. I’m scared to make a weight goal because I don’t want to be disappointed. So I’m thinking of habits I can implement instead that will automatically help with the weight loss.

I’m thinking of having a goal of tracking for 8 weeks solid. It’s already my goal to track every day this week (as that’s the focus for week 1 anyways). And I lose when I track. So yeah.

I’d like to think of a new fitness goal too. Now that I don’t have to worry about 2 hours runs and sticking to a training schedule, I think it’ll be easier mentally for me to lace up 3 times a week. And I can do whatever I want now. 20 minutes or 5 miles. Fast or slow. I’m looking forward to that. And maybe a speed goal? I’ll have to set a bench mark to see where I need to grow from. I know I’m about a 14-14:30 min/mile. I can go faster, but its hard to sustain. So maybe start with running a mile at medium hard intensity. Which should be about 13 min for that mile. I ran the first 5 miles of my 10 mile race at 13 min miles. So it’s possible.

So 8 weeks- tracking, running 3 times a week, and cross training once a week. Whether its yoga or a work out DVD.

I hope with these changes I can see about an 8 pound loss. But as long as I lose anything, and not gain, I’ll consider it a win.

Ahh 1 week!! I kinda can’t wait. Even though its gonna be hard. Races are fun. And I bring my A game at least. And I got to practice my routine at the 10 mile race the other week. I’ll take some melatonin around 9pm, eat my breakfast around 6am (Taylor ham, egg, and cheese on a roll). Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! I’m thinking of leaving the water bottle behind because I had no issue getting beverages at the race. And just wearing something for my energy. Unfortunately those cliff blocks take up a lot of space. And I want my phone for GPS and music. Mom and Larry are gonna make it there at some point. I told them they don’t need to be there at the start. I’ll be running for 3 hours so they have time. Omg 3 hours. Phew. I hope I don’t walk the last 3 miles. Or get picked up and driven to the finish line. That’s my only time goal.

Tell me something!

